Kids Kids Fiction
Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tristan Bancks

My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up

My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up

Regular price $16.34 USD
Regular price $16.34 USD Sale price $16.34 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Paperback

Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman, and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection. Author Bancks doesn't skip a beat as he writes from his character Tom's perspective, and illustrator Gus Gordon adds his usual funny and clever drawings to it all. What a great book. A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2007), Bancks' latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor . . . A good choice for kids drawn to the upside down and out-and-out disgusting. It's a laugh-out-loud look at a boy's imagination with all of the bravado and cringe-worthy moments that readers might expect. The short, easy-to-read entries are punctuated with Tom's drawings, making this a good choice for reluctant readers. Additionally, the hybrid format, a chapter book filled with cartoon illustrations, and the humoros take on one boy's life, make it another pick for readers looking for Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Abrams, 2007) read-a-likes. These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo, and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled and wondering if it really happened or not . . .

Author: Tristan Bancks
Publisher: Puffin (Au Yr)
Published: 01/01/2022
Pages: 240
Weight: 0.50lbs
Size: 8.53h x 4.44w x 0.69d
ISBN: 9781761042683

About the Author
Tristan Bancks tells stories for the page and screen. His books for kids and teens include Two Wolves, The Fall, Detention, and the Tom Weekly series. Two Wolves won Honour Book in the 2015 CBCA Book of the Year Awards and was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Awards. The Fall was a CBCA Notable Book and shortlisted for the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Tristan's books have also been recognized in multiple children's choice awards. Tristan is a writer-ambassador for literacy charity Room to Read. He is currently working with producers to develop several of his books for the screen. He's excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can find out more about Tristan's books, play games, watch videos, chat to the author, and help him try to change the world at tristanbancks website. Gus Gordon is an internationally acclaimed illustrator and author. He has illustrated and written over 80 books for children. His illustrations are known for their loose and energetic line work, mixed media and humor. His writing is always anthropomorphic. He attributes this to his love of Kenneth Grahame's Wind in The Willows. Gus's first picture book, Wendy, was a Notable Book in the 2010 Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Picture Book of the Year Awards. His second picture book, Herman and Rosie, now published in twelve countries, has been internationally acclaimed and awarded. Somewhere Else was published by Penguin Random House Australia in 2016.
View full details