Kids Kids Fiction
Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ian McEwan

The Daydreamer

The Daydreamer

Regular price $17.28 USD
Regular price $17.28 USD Sale price $17.28 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A delightful literary foray for adults and children alike, from the inexhaustible imagination of the Booker Prize winner and bestselling author of Atonement.

"As far-fetched and funny as anything by Roald Dahl." --Vogue

In these seven exquisitely interlinked episodes, the grown-up protagonist Peter Fortune reveals the secret journeys, metamorphoses, and adventures of his childhood. Living somewhere between dream and reality, Peter experiences fantastical transformations: he swaps bodies with the wise old family cat; exchanges existences with a cranky infant; encounters a very bad doll who has come to life and is out for revenge; and rummages through a kitchen drawer filled with useless objects to discover some not-so-useless cream that actually makes people vanish. Finally, he wakes up as an eleven-year-old inside a grown-up body and embarks on the truly fantastic adventure of falling in love. Moving, dreamlike, and extraordinary, The Daydreamer marks yet another imaginative departure for Ian McEwan.

Don't miss Ian McEwan's new novel, Lessons, coming in September!

Author: Ian McEwan
Publisher: Anchor Books
Published: 01/18/2000
Pages: 160
Weight: 0.38lbs
Size: 8.01h x 5.15w x 0.43d
ISBN: 9780385498050

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.4
Point Value: 4
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 20064 / Daydreamer

About the Author
Ian McEwan is the bestselling author of seventeen books, including the novels Nutshell; The Children Act; Sweet Tooth; Solar, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize; On Chesil Beach; Saturday; Atonement, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award and the W. H. Smith Literary Award; The Comfort of Strangers and Black Dogs, both short-listed for the Booker Prize; Amsterdam, winner of the Booker Prize; and The Child in Time, winner of the Whitbread Award; as well as the story collections First Love, Last Rites, winner of the Somerset Maugham Award, and In Between the Sheets.
View full details